DUI Lawyer Serving Rhode Island
Available Around-the-Clock, Year-Round: (401) 354-2255
In Rhode Island, adults 21 years or older can be charged with driving under
the influence (DUI) if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08
or higher. Being charged with DUI is a serious offense, as it can expose
a person to the possibility of jail time, expensive fines and a lengthy
driver’s license suspension. If you have been arrested on DUI charges
in Rhode Island, a Providence DUI attorney from the Law Office of Jason
Knight can defend you against your charges and advocate for a desirable
outcome on your behalf.
Why Choose Our DUI Attorney?
- Former Prosecutor Fighting for You
- Thousands of Criminal Defense Cases Handled
- 24/7 Availability & Affordable Rates
- Free Case Review to Evaluate Your Options
As a former prosecutor, our firm’s defense attorney knows how to
challenge DUI charges and can use his invaluable insight to counter the
opposition’s strategy. We can walk you through the process and provide
our cutting-edge defense against all DUI-related charges. Protecting your
rights is of utmost importance to us, and we are prepared to go the distance
in the pursuit of a reduction or dismissal of your charges.
Penalties for DUI in Rhode Island
A conviction for DUI can bring a variety of serious consequences. The severity
of these penalties will vary depending on a number of factors, including
your prior arrest record, level of intoxication at the time of your arrest,
and whether or not a collision was caused that led to another person’s death.
The penalties for a first DUI offense in Rhode Island include:
- Up to 1 year in jail
- Up to $500 in fines
- Up to 18 months of driver's license suspension
Second and third offenses will carry more serious penalties, including
up to five years in jail, fines up to $5,000, and a minimum two-year license
suspension. In addition, you may be required to have an ignition interlock
device (IID) installed in your vehicle. If you
refused to take a breathalyzer, then you could be looking at a 6-month suspension of your driver's
license, up to 60 hours of community service, and up to $500 in fines.
In addition to the legal penalties, you may also face increased insurance
premiums or even the possibility of denied coverage. This could virtually
end your ability to drive and may even jeopardize your career if your
job depends on having a valid driver's license.
Discuss Your Case for Free Today
Being charged with any crime can be a frightening experience, especially
if you have never been arrested in the past. At the Law Office of Jason
Knight, our Rhode Island DUI lawyer understands the severity of your situation
and is prepared to stand by your side during this difficult time. Many
studies have shown chemical tests to be notoriously flawed and inaccurate
in gauging a driver's actual level of intoxication.
We can work to challenge the evidence presented against you, including
field sobriety tests, chemical tests, and more. With our zealous advocacy
and uncompromising dedication to preserving your well-being, we can answer
any questions you may have and help you rest easy knowing your case is
in good hands. Our office is located in Providence, but we serve clients
throughout Rhode Island.