Rhode Island Assault & Battery Defense Attorney
Assault & Battery Charges
The laws in Rhode Island do not tolerate any violence or threat of violence of any sort. The strictness of the law can lead to exaggerated claims, misunderstandings, and falsified reports putting people in jail and awaiting their time in court. If you have been arrested for assault and/or battery and you think you should be exonerated of the allegations, contact Attorney Jason Knight today. As a former prosecutor and someone who has earned a “Superb” Avvo rating, he stands out from other defense attorneys in the state, and even the country.
You can contact us 24/7 in case of emergency! Schedule a complimentary consultation with our Rhode Island Assault & Battery Lawyer over the phone.
What is the Difference Between Assault & Battery?
More often than not, when you hear about a violent crime, it is described as assault and battery. The odd thing about this is that “assault and battery” is not a criminal charge; they actually mean that assault was committed as well as battery, and the two are two different charges altogether.
Assault & Battery Defined:
- Battery: Unwelcomed, aggressive, or harmful touching, such as a pinch all the way up to a physical blow.
- Assault: Verbal or bodily intimidation or threats, such as throwing a punch and missing
The two criminal offenses are almost-always paired with one another due to the fact that it is unlikely that one has occurred without the other. In other words, someone who vows to hurt someone (assault) usually follows through with their claim immediately (battery). On the other hand, someone who intentionally harms someone does not typically do so without some sort of warning or threat.
What are the Penalties for Assault or Battery in Rhode Island?
If you are convicted of assault or battery charges in Rhode Island, you could face the following penalties:
- Due to the similar nature of assault and battery, they have identical punishments in most cases.
- The average sentencing will include 1 year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
- It will also open up the convicted to civil lawsuits from the alleged victim, which could result in steep amounts paid in restitution.
- If the incident could be linked to domestic violence, penalties can include additional fines, removal of custody rights, and mandatory intervention.
Felony Assault in RI
If you are charged with assault that involves a dangerous weapon or results in the serious physical injury of another person, you can be charged with felony assault. Under Rhode Island General Laws Title 11, § 11-5-2, you can receive a maximum penalty of six years or twenty years imprisonment depending on the level of bodily injury.
Comprehensive & Knowledgeable Legal Defense in Providence
Do not allow your assault and battery case to fall apart into nothing more than your word against the accuser’s. The court is more likely to lean toward a conviction if there is not strong evidence to prove that you are innocent of the alleged crimes, or at least not guilty of how they are being described.
With our Rhode Island assault & battery attorney in your corner, you can trust that your case is being taken seriously and handled by a professional who knows what the prosecution is thinking, and how to challenge their claims. We are located in Providence but serve clients throughout Rhode Island.
Want to know more about Attorney Jason Knight? Call (401) 354-2255 today.
Intimidation Case Dismissed
Domestic Assault Case Dismissed
Client Charged with Possession with Intent to Distribute Case Resolved With No Jail
Juvenile Client Charged with Illicit Sex with a Minor No Registration, No Jail, & No Criminal Record
Unlicensed Dealing in Firearms No Jail
Domestic Violence and Violation of No-Contact Order Both Cases Dismissed
Possession of Weapon Without License No Conviction, No Jail, No Probation
Reckless Driving, DUI Not Guilty
Felony Assault No Conviction, No Jail, No Probation
Emergency Appointments Available 24/7
Affordable Service & Convenient Office Hours
Trial-Tested & Compassionate