Multiple DUI Defense Attorney in Rhode Island
Rhode Island does not hold back when it comes to imposing heavy legal penalties upon anyone convicted of a first-time DUI. When someone is charged with multiple DUIs – second, third, and so on – the punishments will only be all the more severe. If you are facing multiple DUI charges, then you should waste no time in seeking the experienced legal counsel of the Law Office of Jason Knight and our Rhode Island DUI defense lawyer. We have years of experience defending against things such as improperly administered sobriety tests and more.
Reasons to retain our criminal defense services for your DUI case:
- We are led by a former prosecutor with valuable insight.
- We have handled thousands of criminal defense cases.
- We make ourselves available 24/7 for emergency calls.
- We offer free case reviews to prospective clients.
The sooner that you take action to defend yourself against multiple DUI charges in Rhode Island, the sooner you will find peace of mind in knowing that you are not alone in this difficult time. Call us at (401) 354-2255 to begin.
Second & Third DUI Offenses in Rhode Island
There is a five-year lookback period in Rhode Island. Put simply, the court will consider a DUI violation to be active on someone’s criminal and driving record for five years. Another DUI arrest before the previous becomes inactive will count as a multiple DUI.
For the second DUI offense on your record, you could face the following penalties:
- Minimum 10-days imprisonment with maximum of 1 year
- Up to $400 in fines
- Ignition interlock device installation for two years
- Two-year license suspension
It should be noted that higher fines and lengthier jail times can be imposed against a second-DUI offender who had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of 0.15% or greater at the time of the arrest. In such a situation, the fines would likely be escalated to $1,000 and the minimum jail sentence becomes 6 months.
Third-time DUI offenses in Rhode Island can include these administrative and criminal penalties:
- Two- or three-year license suspension
- Mandatory ignition interlock device for two years
- Minimum fine of $1,000 that can be increased up to $5,000
- One-to-three year imprisonment
- Vehicle forfeiture to sell at state auction
- Felony mark on criminal record
Additional Multiple DUI Charges
If you have been convicted for a third-time DUI in Rhode Island and get arrested for another DUI within 5 years, you will be up against severe penalties backed by an adamant prosecution. Your DUI charge will be considered a felony and can carry penalties of an increasing severity compared to a third-time DUI. Judges and administrators in your case may have some discretion when deciding upon penalties. It is not unusual for someone to have their license revoked until further notice after a fourth- or fifth-time DUI conviction.
Know Your Defense Options & Get to Work On Your Case
At the Law Office of Jason Knight, our Rhode Island DUI defense attorney understands the severity of facing multiple DUI charges. When you retain our services for your case, we waste no time and act with genuine urgency. We treat the situation as if we are defending ourselves and go to great lengths to find a way to keep your driver’s license intact, either by achieving charge or sentencing reductions, case dismissal, or a not guilty verdict. You can also talk to us about getting a hardship license to complete necessary errands, such as going to work or school, if your license has already been suspended.
Time to start your defense. Call (401) 354-2255 or use an online contact form.
Real Case Results
We Dedicate All of Our Resources & Attention to Defending Your Case
Charges Dismissed Accused of Hitting Girlfriend
No Jail Time Assault With a Deadly Weapon
Charge Reduced Breaking & Entering
Case Dismissed Breaking & Entering and Felony Assault
Case Dismissed Carrying an Unlicensed Firearm